top of page
  • Writer's pictureAimee Heckel

Adventures in Southern Colorado

By Betty

We went on a week-long trip to Mesa Verde. Today I will tell you about the highlights of the trip.


So, the first highlight is the first nature hike we went on, at the Ritz-Carlton. It was so fun! And the guide was awesome. There was also a dog with us on the hike. Her name was Scout. Here is a photo with us and her!

She was just the cutest. On the hike we found a great horned owl feather. It was awesome! But sadly we don't have a photo of it.


Anyway, another highlight is when the guide gave me this giant dandelion sorta thing. Here is a photo of me holding it.

The guide said to me, “I'll give you all my tips if you can blow all the seeds off!” Sadly I didn't succeed.


The third highlight is when we went to a river called Dolores River. It was super fun. Dad knocked over one of the rock stackings in the water when he tried to add rocks.

We found a bunch of beautiful rocks that we brought home. And mom found some driftwood. With the wood she drew a bunch in the sand. Here is a photo of dad spinning me in the sand.

Another awesome highlight is when we went to The Maverick Hotel. It was awesome. Our room was crazy. It had KING BUNK BEDS! Awesome, right? Here's a photo of the beds!

And the people there are super nice. They gave me a goody bag!

The next highlight is the hot springs we went to! If you didn't know I LOVE SWIMMING! And that hot springs is the bomb! 100% recommend! They have so many hot springs and a pool that makes you feel like you're floating. Right now they are under construction in some spots and are making a VIP lounge, an adult only area, and a snack bar. Oh, and I can't forget they are adding spots for food trucks and a pit to eat at! It's going to be even more awesome! I cant wait. BTW the place is called Durango Hot Springs.

The next highlight is when we went to the skate park. It was so fun watching all the skaters. I wish I had brought my skateboard. It was so cool. I learned new tricks I hadn't heard of.

This highlight is when we went stand-up paddleboarding! It was so fun! Like I said, I love water, and I couldn't get off the paddleboard. Dad pushed me off, but he got wet, too, so it was worth it.

Another highlight is when we went on a hike up by Canyons of the Ancients. It was awesome and again we had an awesome guide.

She showed us some of the leftover pottery she found.

We also got to make like this cool rope thing. We learned how to make rope out of yucca leaves. It was so fun.

We did a lot more highlights but this would never end if I told you them all, so I hope you enjoyed my blog for this week! Goodbye!


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Road Trip Creative Writing

By Betty Anne Bryce Canyon National Park The sun falls and the animals go to sleep. (Animals include, North American porcupine, mule deer, Uintah chipmunk, Rocky Mountain elk, the Utah prairie dog, co

bottom of page